Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Defining EDITOR Variable - Tru64 Post 302268312 by vbe on Monday 15th of December 2008 10:59:59 AM
Old 12-15-2008
EDITOR=/usr/bin/emacs;export EDITOR (but is it installed there? you should have xemacs...)

Last edited by vbe; 12-15-2008 at 12:05 PM.. Reason: corrections

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

defining a variable as a number or character?

I am writing a script that needs to accept numbers into a variable by prompting and using the code read num case $num in 000) break ;; *) I am fairly new to unix and am loving the versatility of the language but need a little shove in the right... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: noobian
1 Replies

2. AIX

How to set path for the EDITOR variable?

For some reason something has changing in my AIX environment where when I type: ACLEDIT filename ...I get: 3002-104 acledit: EDITOR environment variable must be full pathname I know I need to reset the EDITOR variables path to /usr/bin/vi but I can't remember the syntax anyone? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: heprox
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Defining Variables

I'm trying to define a variable named sin I already have a variable named cos, which has the value "hello" I want sin to have the value of "hellothere", so sin would be something like sin = $cos & "there" but I'm not sure that I know the syntax. Can anyone help? :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sailorliones
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to dereference the variable in sed editor

Hi I am trying to do the substitution using the 'sed' editor. In the line below I am trying to substitute all instances of XXX by the value of the variable PX sed 's/XXX/${PX}/g' ${TEMPLETE} > ${TEMPLETE}.${PX} The problem is that 'sed' editor takes ${PX} literary (without retrieving the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aoussenko
2 Replies