Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Device Files names and location Post 302263489 by Carl1976 on Monday 1st of December 2008 05:08:47 PM
Old 12-01-2008
Device Files names and location

HI there. I am studying System administration right now and am stuck on a question that I have failed to find the answer for in my book.

The question is: Do device files need to be in the /dev directory and to they need to follow a naming convention?

My answer (so far) is that since the kernel commnicated with device files, it needs to know where they are located, so I would imagine that yes they do need to be in the /dev directory. And as a rule of thumb there are conventions that need to be followed as "best practices" such as fd, lp etc, but I could make the name whatever I wanted.

I have tried to solve this myself by:
Reading the section in the book again (and again)
Searching other forums and resource sites
played around on my system to test it myself
i.e.
1. cd /home/temp
2. sudo mknod mydev c 136 2
3. echo "testing" > /home/temp/mydev
--> Nothing happens here which would seem to re-enforce my answer that device files do need to be in the /dev dir but ca nstill be named whatever I want

So, this is where I am confused. I have attempted to solve this myself, and don't simply want the answer and that's it, but some help, clarification, point in the right direction etc.

I'm just spinning my wheels so any support would be appreciated. I have emailled my prof as well, and am just waiting as well, so thought I would post the same thing here!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

device location codes

what is meant by device location codes? what is their format and how can i identify the location of a device in redhat linux? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: docaia
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

copy files from one location to similar location