Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Calling alias
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Calling alias Post 302260173 by shantanuo on Thursday 20th of November 2008 12:22:48 AM
Old 11-20-2008
Lightbulb Calling alias

I have created a shortcut for the file kill_process.sh as shown below.

alias kill_process="sh /root/kill_process.sh"

It is working as per my expectations. But I have 2 questions.
1) Is there any better way?
2) How do I check what does kill_process link to?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alias

I'm trying to do the following: Create an alias called whopw that will change directory to the /etc directory and grep the password file for my username to return my password file entry. One assumption: Once the alias works, I will be letting all of my friends copy and use it. In other... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: klannon
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alias

Hello, I'm a beginner to Unix and I want to create an alias that lists the given directory in long format; the alias should use a pager to display the result. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: guelpth
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

alias help

Hi I have a problem when i try to set any thing as alias it works say alias sasa="cd /home/hghgg" but when i close the terminal it does not work (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafique
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with Alias

Hi, I have a software package consisting of a group of BASH shell scripts. There is a master script which calls a series of subscripts. To run the software users must open the master script, modify and save it, and then run it. To open the script you can either double-click on it, or you can... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: msb65
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

alias