Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting concatenating the filenames in a directory Post 302257139 by joeyg on Tuesday 11th of November 2008 12:40:01 PM
Old 11-11-2008
Tools Could you approach this like:

pattern="xyz"
ls | grep "$pattern" > file_out.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping thru filenames in a directory

Hi, i am very new to UNIX, i am trying to loop thru the files in a directory. I got the filenames into a variable using $files=`ls` Here $files will contain <filename1> <filename2> <filename3> I want to get one filename at a time and append it to some some text. forexample, ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: silas.john
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change all filenames in a directory

I have a directory of files and each file has a random 5 digit string at the beginning that needs to be removed. Plus, there are some files that will be identically named after the 5 digit string is removed and I want those eliminated or moved. any ideas? (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: crumb
17 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use filenames to create directory.

I have many files similar to this one: AC41_AC85_86_AC128_129_MC171_173_SF_207_FMV.pdf. I want a directory named AC41 and to put the file AC41_AC85_86_AC128_129_MC171_173_SF_207_FMV.pdf into the directory. Next, a directory named AC85 and put the file into it. Also, continue to cycle through... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ndnkyd
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting filenames from a directory in single line

Hi All, I have a requirement where I need to get the all file names present in a particular directory in to a single separated by space, I have files in /home/RAAM/work directory as test1.xls test2.xls test3.xls I need to get all filenames from that directory in single line like ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raamc
6 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers