Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting dead simple bash script question Post 302256843 by Ikon on Monday 10th of November 2008 05:24:51 PM
Old 11-10-2008
Code:
echo "Choose: 1,2,3,Q"

while read -n 1 yourinput
do
echo
 case "$yourinput"
 in
 1)
  echo "you pressed 1"
  ;;
 2)
  echo "This time you pressed 2"
  ;;
 3)
  echo "You wanted 3"
  ;;
 Q)
  exit 0
  ;;
 *)
  echo "I have no idea"
  ;;
 esac

done

Last edited by Ikon; 11-10-2008 at 06:38 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple Bash Script

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but as I am new to bash shell scripting I'm not sure what: Here's the code webalizer.conf is sitting in the same directory as this file which is named webalizer.sh. Can someone tell me if I've got the syntax right -- it that's correct? I'm executing the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: xaphalanx
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple bash script to ftp?

Hi all has anyone got a code snippet of how i can ftp a file automatically by running a simple bash script. I have 4 things IP address xx.xxx.xx.xx username=satnam domain = app.sample.ftp password= satnam_password Im not sure how to pull these all together to ftp a file? any ideas? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: satnamx
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple Bash Read File question

Hello all, I am trying to write a simple script that will parse through a text/properties file and check a couple of if statements. Here is what I have so far: FILENAME=$1 while read line do echo $line done < $FILENAME When I call ./simple.sh testfile.txt I recieve a file or... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lamagra
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple BASH script?