Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using diff on files in different directories Post 302256208 by elduderino on Saturday 8th of November 2008 06:39:38 PM
Old 11-08-2008
oh right of course....just type the path of each of the two files in.

Is there a way to create a mechanism so I don't have to type the paths in everytime...say for instance i'm always comparing files in 2 specific directories is there a way i can create some sort of unix program to take care of the paths so i can just type the files in I want to compare.

As you may have guessed i'm a complete newb when it comes to unix so you'll have to forgive my ignorance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

diff 2 files; output diff's to 3rd file

Hello, I want to compare two files. All records in file 2 that are not in file 1 should be output to file 3. For example: file 1 123 1234 123456 file 2 123 2345 23456 file 3 should have 2345 23456 I have looked at diff, bdiff, cmp, comm, diff3 without any luck! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: blt123
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl package directories - what if the script is diff DIR to the one contain *.pm?

Hi there, say the package is in the ~/ and it's ~/packageFoo.pm I can use usePackage.pl in ~/ (~/usePackage.pl). Now, if I move it to ~/subDIR/usePackage.pl, the script won't work because it's not in the same DIR with packageFoo.pm How can i fix it? Thanks Gusla (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gusla
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

perform diff between 2 directories

Hello all i wander what is the best way to make diff between 2 directories and perform diff of 2 kinds the first is the names of the files on each directory , and the second diff is between the content of each file and the corresponding file and the second dir. Thanks for the help (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: umen
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers