Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Chemist Needs Help
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Chemist Needs Help Post 302250513 by gingburg on Thursday 23rd of October 2008 02:28:30 PM
Old 10-23-2008
Chemist Needs Help

Hello All I am a chemist and really dont know too much about programming but here goes.

Essentially I need to create a script that I can run which will do the following.
Create a file where the first four lines are a set of commands that are the same for all the files. E.g
ln1: comment
ln2: x y x
ln3: 101
ln4: 4 7

So the script should print those line into a new file first.

Then i need to make 4 columns.
The first I need to be 1.5 +0.1 100 times.
e.g.
etc.

The second column I need to be a column of data which I have used the command awk '/Done/ {print $2}' file
There will be 101 numbers extracted
Note: I would like Done and the number to be a variable to input in the command line.

The third and fourth are the same as the second except there will only be one point that I need to repeat 101 times.

If someone could help me that would be amazing. Also if someone is an expert I will pay them via paypal to help me occasionally. Thank you Lenny.

Last edited by gingburg; 10-23-2008 at 03:54 PM..

We Also Found This Discussion For You

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Chemist Needs Help part II

Hello friends, I was wondering if you can help me with probably a simple function to you all: the sample looks and has this format. I was wondering how I could extract the first and second column starting including the line 'E/N and Ko' and not stop until there are no more lines. Thank you for... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gingburg
5 Replies
COLUMN(1)						    BSD General Commands Manual 						 COLUMN(1)

NAME
column -- columnate lists SYNOPSIS
column [-tx] [-c columns] [-s sep] [file ...] DESCRIPTION