Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Permissions for the root user on Solaris 10 Post 302235428 by Shreedhar Naik on Friday 12th of September 2008 01:40:30 AM
Old 09-12-2008
Java Permissions for the root user on Solaris 10

Hi I have a doubt, here if a file does not have the write permissions to the root user my script is going to write the data into that file. when i executed the script as root user. Is it correct ... ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

root group permissions

Hello, Another newbie here and here is my dilemma. I created an account for me on Solaris 8 and I added myself to the root group. But when I login using that account I am unable to do superuser tasks.. (add users, admintool, etc). What am I missing? Thanks in advance.. Andre (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jacobsa
5 Replies

2. Linux

permissions to su to root

What is the file you have to edit to allow or deny someone to be able to su - to root? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
4 Replies

3. HP-UX

Root Permissions

Hi all, I cannot change root owned files/directories even though I am logged in as root. >drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 4096 Oct 25 14:00 prodbkp >root / # chown oracle prodbkp prodbkp: Not owner >id uid=0(root) gid=3(sys) groups=0(root) please assist. thanks (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: macgre_r
0 Replies

4. Solaris

How to start CDE for non root user on Solaris 10

Hi, How can I start CDE for non root user created.For root CDE is working fine but for non root user CDE exits back to login screen after trying for some time.Also I cant see .dt and .dtprofile files in the users home directory.How can I create them.Kindly help. Thanks & Regards, Kiran. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kiranherekar
1 Replies

5. Solaris

Non-root user access to privileged ports-Solaris 8