Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl question, parsing line by line Post 302233073 by Ek0 on Friday 5th of September 2008 09:33:30 PM
Old 09-05-2008
Perl question, parsing line by line

Hello,

Im very new to PERL and as a project to work on developing my skills at PERL Im trying to parse poker hands.

Ive tried many methods however I cant get the last step.

$yourfile= 'FILENAME';#poker hands to parse
open (FILE, "$yourfile") or die $!;
@lines = <FILE>;

for (@lines)
{
if (/^Dealt.*]$/)
{
$blah = $_;
push (@cards,$blah);
}
}
print "@cards";

This script will produce the following output...

Dealt to me [4h 5s]
Dealt to me [Kh 2s]
Dealt to me [3c 6h]
Dealt to me [9s 8d]

I want to parse out the hands within the [ ], how do i do this?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl question - removing line from input file

In perl I want to do remove the top line of my input file then process the next line. I want to do something like head -1 inputfile > temp grep -v temp inputfile > newinputfile cp newinputfile inputfle is this possible in perl? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: reggiej
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing command line switches in Perl

Hi, My perl script takes few switches which i'm parsing through GetOpt::Long module. My script looks like something : myscript.pl --file="foo" --or --file="bar" The --file switch takes 2 arguments foo and bar. The 2 values of file are separated by --or switch. I want to ensure that... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: obelix
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use Perl to join multi-line into single line

Hello, Did anyone know how to write a perl script to merge the multi-line into a single line where each line with start at timestamp Input--> timestamp=2009-11-10-04.55.20.829347; a; b; c; timestamp=2009-11-10-04.55.20.829347; aa; bb; cc; (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyday
5 Replies