Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Checking for a control file before processing a data file Post 302230965 by purna.cherukuri on Monday 1st of September 2008 06:43:42 AM
Old 09-01-2008
Checking for a control file before processing a data file

Hi All,
I am very new to Shell scripting...
I got a requirement.
I will have few text files(data files) in a particular directory. they will be with .txt extension. With same name, but with a different extension control files also will be there. For example, Sample_20081001.txt is the data file, then Sample_20081001.ctl will be the control file.
Now if the ctl file exists, then only i have to move that particular txt file into another directory. Others i should not move. And the .txt and .ctl files will be multiple. This is my requirement.

Can anybody please give a solution?
Thank you very much.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Have a shell script check for a file to exist before processing another file

I have a shell script that runs all the time looking for a certain type of file and then it processes the file through a series of other scripts. The script is watching a directory that has files uploaded to it via SFTP. It already checks the size of the file to make sure that it is not still... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: heprox
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Data File Processing Help

I need to read contents of directory and create a list of data files that match a certain pattern and process by renaming it and calling a existing .ksh script then archiving off to file another directory. Any suggestions or samples u could point me to on using .ksh perl or other to process... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mavsman
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Checking Data in File