Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to test for scripts running Post 302225277 by era on Friday 15th of August 2008 02:54:36 AM
Old 08-15-2008
Are you really using backticks in those commands? Take them out, they don't do what you want.

As an aside, the customary way to avoid a Useless Use of Grep is to grep for a regex which doesn't match itself.

Code:
ps -efa | grep '[c]hk' >/path/to/tempfile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to Test Application Server is running

Hi, I'm a complete novice at Unix and need to create a script that does the following... checks to see if an application server is running. If the app is running then print 'Available' Else print 'Unavaliable' exit from scriopt I have no idea where to start. I'd be very grateful... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: duglover
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running SQL Scripts from Shell script - Need insight!

I've a script that fetches various values from the database as below: #! /bin/ksh $conn="user/pwd@service_name" `sqlplus -s << $conn EOF1 @xyz.sql @pqr.sql @abc.sql EOF1` The output of the script should generate txt files containing the results from queries which are further... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: manthasirisha
6 Replies

3. Linux

running test

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I am running a test command and if the user is not found you have to type exit and it wiil exit. Ok I did that. But if the user is found it is supposed to finger them. But my problem is it makes you type exit first... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: skooly5
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running scripts via su