Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting problem redirecting output of command to variable Post 302223087 by nunovc on Friday 8th of August 2008 09:50:37 AM
Old 08-08-2008
problem redirecting output of command to variable

Hi. I'm a newbie in scripting and i have this problem: i want to use the 'fuser' command on a file to tell if it's being accessed (for my purposes: still being written). I want to save the output of the command and later compare with the 'not being used' result.

the script:

#!/bin/bash
TATA='ii'
echo 'TATA before: '$TATA
TATA=`fuser LockedFiles/deals.csv`
echo 'TATA after: '$TATA

However, the result of the above code is:

-bash-3.00$ script.sh
TATA before: ii
LockedFiles/deals.csv:
TATA after:

So the output of the command is not going to the variable but to the screen (altough the variable value is erased) and I can't figure out why! Can you help me?

Thanks,

Nuno

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Command output to a variable.

With cut -c 8-13 myfile, I am getting some numeric value. In my shell script I am trying to assign something like this, var=cut -c 8-13 myfile But at the time of execution I am getting -c is not found. If I dont assign, then script executes well. Can we not simply use the value from one... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: videsh77
8 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

problem while storing the output of awk to variable

Hi, i have some files in one directory(say some sample dir) whose names will be like the following. some_file1.txt some_file2.txt. i need to get the last modified file size based on file name pattern like some_ here i am able to get the value of the last modified file size using the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: eswarreddya
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting output of a command to a file