Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to get the data from line number 1 to line number 100 of a file Post 302218532 by Anji on Friday 25th of July 2008 11:41:09 AM
Old 07-25-2008
CPU & Memory how to get the data from line number 1 to line number 100 of a file

Hi Everybody,
I am trying to write a script that will get some perticuler data from a file and redirect to a file.

My Question is,
I have a Very huge file,In that file I have my required data is started from 25th line and it will ends in 100th line.
I know the line numbers, I need to get all the data started from 25th line to 100th line. How to do that with Shell script?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Appending the line number and a seperator to each line of a file ?

Hi, I am a newb as far as shell scripting and SED goes so bear with me on this one. I want to basically append to each line in a file a delimiter character and the line's line number e.g Change the file from :- aaaaaa bbbbbb cccccc to:- aaaaaa;1 bbbbbb;2 cccccc;3 I have worked... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pjcwhite
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Appending line number to each line and getting total number of lines

Hello, I need help in appending the line number of each line to the file and also to get the total number of lines. Can somebody please help me. I have a file say: abc def ccc ddd ffff The output should be: Instance1=abc Instance2=def Instance3=ccc Instance4=ddd Instance5=ffff ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding a columnfrom a specifit line number to a specific line number