Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help: Script to edit the hosts, network and eth0 file Post 302217154 by Shaikjaveed on Tuesday 22nd of July 2008 04:22:55 AM
Old 07-22-2008
Error Need help: Script to edit the hosts, network and eth0 file

Hello all Smilie

I am new to scripting. I need somebody to help me write a script that can edit the files.
For eg: if i say ./script <ipadd> <hostname>
then it should change the ipaddress and hostname in the following files:
1. /etc/hosts
2. /etc/sysconfig/network
3. /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

I have just started scripting so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks all in advance.
Cheers Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

edit /etc/hosts to show mypc in who

have edit the /etc/hosts as belows 123.45.12.55 mypc so when i do a who, i can see my "mypc" BUT after i changed, i cant see "mypc" do i have to restart anything? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: yls177
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to EDIT file using VI in a script

Hello, How would i go about editing a file using VI within a shell script please? Basically, i want to open a file, clear it's contents and save the file. I found this on the web using "ex" but can't seem to get it to work: ex /home/oconnor/TOOLS/UNIXCMDS/test_ex <<eof_ex dd /*i put... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobk544
2 Replies

3. Red Hat

[tip] network route-eth0

hi, i would like to share this /etc/sysconfig/network-script/route-eth0 GATEWAY0=XXXXXX NETMASK0=XXXXXX ADDRESS0=XXXXXXX a delete route command with "route del -net xxxx...." will work but if the above exist and you reboot the linux then old route will be invoke on that config-route. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: itik
0 Replies

4. Red Hat

SSH broke and network traffic / talking issue between hosts and server