Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting hcitool scan via shell script Post 302215184 by rahulkhn on Tuesday 15th of July 2008 07:56:23 PM
Old 07-15-2008
hcitool scan via shell script

Hello,

Im new to shell scripting , and i have the following question .

The hcitool scan command returns the bluetooth address of the phone . When it is run the output is something like

Code:
Scanning....
             00:A1:5D:AB:B2:E9  Nokia 6600

Can i get the output in a varaiable in a shell script ?

I tried redirecting the output to a file, as follows

Code:
hcitool scan > addr

But the file only recorded "Scanning....". The remaining part was not saved.

Please help.

Thanks.

Last edited by rahulkhn; 07-15-2008 at 09:02 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

port scan shell script

Hi, Can any one please suggest me commands for making port scan shell script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nrbhole
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to scan through files

Dear perl gurus, I plan to create a script that will scan through a logfile line by line. And if ever a certain line meets the below conditions, it will alert me via email. --> a) Position 10 to 13 = "ABCD" b) And also if the amount specified in position 620-640 is less than the amount in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gholdbhurg
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to scan back lines

Hi Perl gurus, I have this file to scan through. Sample lines below: 2008031A, USERNAME, 12345, give ABC, take XYZ, transaction submitted 2008031B, USERNAME, 12346, waiting for processing 2008031C, USERNAME, 12347, Retrieving response 2008031D, USERNAME, 12348, This is not a valid dealing... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gholdbhurg
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to Scan proclog files