Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers string replacement in a sequence of characters Post 302208814 by vino on Wednesday 25th of June 2008 03:31:32 AM
Old 06-25-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by raoscb
Hi All,
I have a string "TBM630300000000020080506094041000003818".I want to replace the last nine digits with another string stored in a variabe called "count".The variabe is also having nine digits.Could any one please help me on this how to accomplish.I need a detail syntax(not in the short form) since i am new to the unix scripting.

I tried with some flavour of "string" commands but those are not supported by my KSH environment.

Appreciate your help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks
Narasimharao.
Here is something to start with

Code:
echo "your_string" | sed -e "s/\(.*\)........./\1$count/"

A . represents any character. A .* means any number of characters. \(.*\) would collect the characters into a buffer. Since we need to replace the last nine numbers, you can represent them as nine consecutive dots or as [0-9]\{9\}. This will get replaced with the contents of $count.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed problem - replacement string should be same length as matching string.

Hi guys, I hope you can help me with my problem. I have a text file that contains lines like this: 78 ANGELO -809.05 79 ANGELO2 -5,000.06 I need to find all occurences of amounts that are negative and replace them with x's 78 ANGELO xxxxxxx 79... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: amangeles
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacement of string

Hi I have a text file which contains the following. AAA,BBB,CCC,DDD AAA,BBB,CCC,DDD AAA,BBB,CCC,DDD How can I replace all CCC with 888, with other contents inside the file remain unchange? Please advice Desired output: AAA,BBB,888,DDD AAA,BBB,888,DDD AAA,BBB,888,DDD (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: c0384
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting