Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script 'Enter' Command. Newbie. Post 302208166 by gwhelan on Monday 23rd of June 2008 06:28:16 AM
Old 06-23-2008
Data Script 'Enter' Command. Newbie.

Hi,

I have the following script which calls a program that asks for user input before progressing. I am new to scripting and this script was written by the previous admin. After $MERGE is executed the application associated with it needs user input - asks for 'Enter' to be pressed. At the moment the output is being redirected to /dev/null. I need to know how to script this. I have seen in other threads that you place a \r (carriage return) into the script. I don't know exactly how to do this though. Thanks for your help.

MERGE="/opt/application/application

$MERGE @list merged.pdf > /dev/null 2>&1

if (( $? != 0 ))
then
print "Merging files $patid_prev failed." >> $LOGFILE
else
patno=`echo $patid_prev | awk '{printf("%06d",$1)}'`
mv merged.pdf "$STARCH_DIR/${studyno}-${patno}.pdf"
fi

$MERGE > /dev/null 2>&1
if (( $? != 0 ))
then
print "PDF-Meld is not installed or not accessible." >> $LOGFILE
print "" >> $LOGFILE
print "Program aborted." >> $LOGFILE
rm -rf $WORKDIR
exit 1
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to enter if-then condition on command prompt/line ?

Hi I have some trouble entering if-then condition in a single line on a command prompt in csh. Could someone show how does one do that ? eg: source .cshrc; cd $dir; pwd; test -d $backup_dir; if then mkdir -p ${backup_dir}; echo inside loop; fi; echo outside loop; mv -f... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mpc8250
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trapping Enter command !!