Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting error while opening files in a directory Post 302204593 by spirtle on Thursday 12th of June 2008 05:01:14 AM
Old 06-12-2008
Get more information about why you cannot open the directory with
Code:
opendir(HOMEDIR,"c:\vin") || die("unable to open directory: $!");

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening Files

I'm a new to UNIX/LINUX. I just put cygwin on my laptop and I can navigate around the directories, but I can't open files (.doc, .ppt, .html or .exe). Is there an explicit command to do this? I know that in Solaris when it does not recognize the file, it brings up the list of available viewing... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: AJA
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening files

I am very new to unix. I want to open a file and read one line in at a time. Can anybody help? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: saarshad001
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

opening non-html files in lynx??

when i try to open a txt file in lynx I need to provide the filename or use wildcards to open. Autocompletion doesn't work for some reason. Also, trying to open files like: .sh, .py etc. ends up in the following error: lynx: Start file could not be found or is not text/html or text/plain ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: riwa
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Opening Files in append mode

Is there any other way to open a file in append mode without using C calls or >> redirection? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vidhya
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting unusual error - moving files to another directory