Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: bash and languages
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting bash and languages Post 302203901 by fpmurphy on Tuesday 10th of June 2008 06:30:36 AM
Old 06-10-2008
bash provides support for localization of strings via message catalogs. A double-quoted string preceded by a dollar sign (‘$') will cause the string to be translated per the current locale.

man getcat for more information.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

scripting languages

I am currently working as a configuration manager on a quite a large project. Our development environment is on NT, but from unit testing onwards it will be UNIX. I will need to write scripts to automate the process of migrating code from NT to UNIX, now since I am new to UNIX, I wasn't sure if... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: headspin
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Programming/Scripting Languages To Learn

Which languages would, in the long run, be best to learn on a UNIX environment for kernel work, every day programs, and overall UNIX programming? I've been learning C for over a year now (which I'm pretty confident with) and decided I want to look into some other languages. I'll mainly be... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tjinr
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

output in different languages

hello, i have to change a lot of shell scripts for one reason : the output in a script should be done in different languages. for example: echo "this is a test" and "this is a test" should be printed out in language for an example: german,italian and so. i saw a tool "gettext" ,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bora99
2 Replies

4. What is on Your Mind?

Programming languages polyglots: how many languages you know?