Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Validation of character separated lines in a file Post 302199546 by ripat on Tuesday 27th of May 2008 06:48:07 AM
Old 05-27-2008
You could have used awk:
Code:
awk -F "|" 'NF!=2' file > output

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

character validation

how do i validate against charcaters in c ta (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ruffenator
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

remove lines from file where > 13 occurrences of character

I have a '~' delimited file of 6 - 7 million rows. Each row should contain 13 columns delimited by 12 ~'s. Where there are 13 tildes, the row needs to be removed. Each row contains alphanumeric data and occasionally a ~ ends up in a descriptive field and therefore acts as a delimiter, resulting... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kpd
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to grep all lines from a file NOT having a certain character

Hi, I have for instance following INPUT file from which I want to grep ALL lines NOT containing the literal '{' into an OUTPUT file: ... RUNJOB=1,AxBxALLxGEx RUNJOB=0,AxBxDELxGExPRAEMxABLxZGS RUNJOB=0,AxBxDELxGExPRAEMxHARM RUNJOB=0,{UNIX: echo '§ASG§;%ASG_START}... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: ABE2202
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Input Validation of comma separated values