Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Merging 2 .CSV files in Unix
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Merging 2 .CSV files in Unix Post 302193339 by chachabronson on Friday 9th of May 2008 05:17:52 AM
Old 05-09-2008
Thanks for your help, however i am unable to get teh code above to work.
I have had some assistance with the above from anothe forumite who gave me the following code:

#!/bin/ksh
cat file1.csv file2.csv >> temp
grep X temp | cut -d"," -f1 | sort -u > final2
while read line
do
line1=`grep $line file2.csv`
if [ $? -eq 0 ]
then
echo $line1 >> final_out
else
line2=`grep $line file1.csv`
echo $line2 >> final_out
fi

done < final2

If anyone could explain in detail as to what is happening in the loop that would be great... i have tested the above and it works like a dream but i want to learn rather than just use code. I am a complet novice so would like a description in a basic level which will help me understand for future.

Thanks to everyone who has helped so far

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging Non-Empty Columns within a CSV

I am trying to place all my data in a single row (order doesn't matter). Note I am a Unix novice, so please go easy on me. Here is an example Raw data: row# (1) 45 64 23 (2) 32 1 6 56 (3) 32 45 Needs to be like this: row# (1) 45 (2) 32 (3) 32 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mmann1123
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging files to create CSV file

Hi, I have different files of the same type, as: Time: 100 snr: 88 perf: 10 other: 222 Each of these files are created periodically. What I need to do is to merge all of them into one but having the following form: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ravendark
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging two CSV files by 3 primary keys (columns)