Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris how to take image of one and installing that on another machine??? Need help Post 302189531 by zing_foru on Saturday 26th of April 2008 06:08:20 AM
Old 04-26-2008
thanks...

I did my solaris machine's epoche backup on a tape through a proprietory software and now wanted to load that dump on another solaris machine of same architecture.

I used below command to restore the dump

#ufsrestore rvfs /dev/rmt/0 1

but this is giving me "Media read error: Not enough space" message.

What is the reason of this error?

is there any other command for restoring tape dump.

My aim is to do both system identical

Thanks...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installing Cable Modem on Irix Machine.

Ok I am new to this and wondering if there is any way of connecting a cable modem to an SGI that is running IRIX 6.5 and how to do it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Acidjack
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Create an Ignite image on tape from Online IgniteUX image

Hi, (HP-UX 11.11) I need to create a tape image of an igniteUX image created on our igniteUX server. That is to say. I have a "Online" image of the igniteUX of the targeted system but I now need to copy it to a useable TAPE (igniteUX) image so i can build an other server from it that is not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Andrek
3 Replies

3. Linux

Help needed installing Grace (xmgrace) on Linux machine

I want to install grace (plotting package; formerly called "xmgr"; also called xmgrace) on a standard PC running Red Hat Linux. I was hoping to find someprecompiled executables, but I only found the complete source files with Makefiles, ".rpm" files, and ".so" files, but I am not experienced enough... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: karman
2 Replies

4. Solaris

Installing CVS package on solaris machine