Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with script that submits jobs at a certain time. Post 302189251 by Modki on Friday 25th of April 2008 10:03:46 AM
Old 04-25-2008
Help with script that submits jobs at a certain time.

Here's the line I type everyday.

Code:
echo  "submit daily 00559 00010 00011" | at 21:00

I dunno. I'm totally new to this. Basically I want this to be fool-proof for everyone else we've had people do things like:

subit daily 00559 00010 00011
submit daly 00559 00010 00011
Submit daily (no params)
submit daily 00559 00010 0001111

So I'm tired of seeing it messed up.. The company doesn't want it added to cron (don't ask long story)

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Overlapping(executing time) jobs in crontab

I do not have the luxery of a server that i can try on, so i had to post my qn here. Say i have two jobs in the cron table, the jobs are scheduled 2 mins apart. Assuming the first jobs does a lot of operations and takes > 2 mins. Will the second job be executed? Will Unix actually have a queue... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

background jobs exit status and limit the number of jobs to run

i need to execute 5 jobs at a time in background and need to get the exit status of all the jobs i wrote small script below , i'm not sure this is right way to do it.any ideas please help. $cat run_job.ksh #!/usr/bin/ksh #################################### typeset -u SCHEMA_NAME=$1 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GrepMe
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

specific number jobs run at the same time

Hi, I have more that 100 jobs I can run background, if I want only 4 running at ther same time, how can I write a script to control it? Thanks peter (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: laopi
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting