Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using Grep within a UNIX Script Post 302187508 by Sarahb29 on Monday 21st of April 2008 09:19:39 AM
Old 04-21-2008
Does anyone have any ideas as to what I could try next, or what this could possibly be?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix shell script (grep -A 6 -B 2 "ORA-" filename

BACKGROUND: I am using Solaris 10. Some of my boxes have gnu grep and I can use -A and -B flags on those. However, the solaris flavor of grep won't use the flags -A or -B. And some of my boxes won't be getting gnu grep. Should I try using perl, awk, or sed? Actual PROBLEM: I am... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: el_guero
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Shell Script Help - Grep

Hi, I am new to UNIX Shell scripting, and will require some help. I am trying to search a directory with a number of files for a specific word, then if that word is found in any of the files, then the filename is appended to a log file or result file by ">" command. I have been trying to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sypherg
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix grep

Hola, solicito ayuda para procesar un archivo de texto como el siguiente y luego obtener las variables. archivo.txt: Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 10.249.98.94, timeout is 2 seconds: Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 28/33/44 ms Variables a obtener: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mmunarriz
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

| help | unix | grep - Can I use grep to return a string with exactly n matches?

Hello, I looking to use grep to return a string with exactly n matches. I'm building off this: ls -aLl /bin | grep '^.\{9\}x' | tr -s ' ' -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 632816 Nov 25 2008 vi -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 632816 Nov 25 2008 view -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 16008 May 25 2008... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: MykC
7 Replies