Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: list files commands
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting list files commands Post 302185893 by lweegp on Wednesday 16th of April 2008 04:40:02 AM
Old 04-16-2008
list files commands

hi all scripting gurus,

need some guide and advise from you.

i'm trying to list all the files in the year 2004 and the file format is something like this: 11176MZ00004JV900004JVB00004JVCcDBU20041206.txt try to use the symbol ^ but somehow it does not help.

i try this as well: ls -ltr | grep 200401 | more and it does shows the files listed in 2004 but also in 2005 and 2006. any way i can refine this search? Smilie

can anyone help? many thanks. Smilie

wee

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

List of Commands for Unix Please

Hello, I have recentlly been given access to a Unix based server in order to learn how to operate a Unix machine.. i have never used Unix before and am in need of a list of commands and there functions.. if you have one available please send it to me in .txt or wordpad document form.. thank you in... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ShdwMaster
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

A Thorough List of FreeBSD commands?!?

I was just wondering if anyone knew of a site that covered all or many of FreeBSD's built in commands. I would also like to know what FreeBSD automatically logs, and where it logs it. Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Kyser_Soze
1 Replies

3. Solaris

List of Commands

Dear All, I am a new Administrator of Solaris in the company , I need a list of the commands pls ... Regards Adel (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ArabOracle.com
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Comparison List of commands

Hi, I would like to have a list of commands in a table, see below example Command description HPUNIX SUN UNIX IBM AIX all above i need comparison list of commands ASAP please.......... B.R (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: f_amshan