Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Output in my shell isn't showing properly. Post 302180562 by ilan on Monday 31st of March 2008 01:09:42 PM
Old 03-31-2008
Hi Satya,

your very first version of code itself should work properly; can you try this...

#!'which sh'
for dt_val in `cut -f 1 -d '|' /prod/ods/satyaki/sqlldr/grp.dat`
do
echo $dt_val
done

I just declared the shell to be used as sh. If this doesn't work...can you tell the OS which you are using and the o/p of "which sh" command?

-ilan

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to output the results of the AT command - properly!

Hi, I am new to UNIX and I am more used to simple commands like those in VMS. One of them is the ability to get the output from a job using the /out=<file> command in VMS. I want to submit a job (a set of unix commands) using the AT command but to get the output in a file like that used in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SpanishPassion
4 Replies

2. Solaris

not getting the output properly

i am entering the command, not get the total out put see the output what i am getting. SQL> select dbms_metadata.get_ddl ('TABLESPACE','SYSTEM') FROM DUAL; DBMS_METADATA.GET_DDL('TABLESPACE','SYSTEM') -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: pmrajesh21
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Korn: How to zero fill df output so it will sort properly

I'm looking for a way in Korn shell to zero fill (or space fill) the output from df so that it will sort properly. "Raw" output from df -k: df -k Filesystem kbytes used avail capacity Mounted on /dev/vx/dsk/rootvol 4131866 3593302 497246 88% / /proc ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: shew01
9 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Isn't a shell found on a beach? Need help nesting if's or loops.