Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Stripping the spaces in a string variable Post 302179107 by rag84dec on Thursday 27th of March 2008 03:02:25 AM
Old 03-27-2008
Stripping the spaces in a string variable

Hi ,
i have to strip the spaces in the string which has the following value
Code:
    ABC                           DEF

i want this to appear like this
Code:
ABC DEF

is there any spilt method?
please help....

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variable has spaces around the string, need to remove them

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the Linux world and I got a couple of shell script questions: (1) How do combine two variables and make it equal to a third variable? For example, I got a variable $A=FirstName, $B=LastName, and I want to combine the variable into one variable so when you echo the final... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mikey20
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Stripping leading spaces on right justified name

I have a name field in a file which is right justified (yep - its true). I need to strip the leading spaces from the field and write the name out left justified. Again, I think I need to use a sed or awk command but so far, my results are at best disappointing. Thank you in advance from a UNIX... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Marcia P
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Please Help!! Reading a string of text with concurrent spaces into a shell variable

Please Help!! Here is a very simplistic example of what I am trying to accomplish. I need what I have inbetween the quotes to be read into the shell variable. x="This is fun" echo $x The results of x from the above expression is: This is fun Notice the unix takes out the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mjs3221
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Stripping a portion of string from behind!!!