Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Korn pattern-list with a variable Post 302178894 by alex_5161 on Wednesday 26th of March 2008 02:03:58 PM
Old 03-26-2008
It does not work because shell performes substitution only onetime. (Why - it is another question and I do not know it.)
Than means the variable is substituted to it's value in first review of the comand by the shell and second time the shell does not process the file name substitution which is required to evaluate (maybe, better to say: expand) the @(test|test).
To correct that the 'eval' command works:
Code:
> ls @(test|test1)/test.txt
test1/test.txt  test/test.txt
> cat @(test|test1)/test.txt
another test file in test1 dir <<<
proba
> var=test\|test1
> echo $var
test|test1
> eval cat @($var)/test.txt
another test file in test1 dir <<<
proba

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

does this variable call work--Korn

I am new to the UNIX environment, but not to programming. My intention is to create a 2D array and print it. Since the Korn Shell does not support that kind of variable, the following is my solution right now. I have created a group of variables as follows: table00 table01 table02 table10... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: morkfard
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

compound variable in korn shell

in a text " Korn Shell Unix programming Manual 3° Edition" i have found this sintax to declare a compoud variable: variable=( fild1 (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ZINGARO
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compound variable in korn shell

in a text " Korn Shell Unix programming Manual 3° Edition" i have found this sintax to declare a compoud variable: variable=( fild1 fild1 ) but this sintax in ksh and sh (HP-UNIX) not work... why?? exist another solution for this type of variable ??? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ZINGARO
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting