Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Total file size of a subset list Post 302177535 by tekster757 on Friday 21st of March 2008 11:19:21 AM
Old 03-21-2008
Total file size of a subset list

Thank you! Yes, that worked very well. But now I'm curious about a couple of things (i.e., please explain a little of how it works):

Instead of bothering you with even more questions than, I looked awk in google and found gnu.org and searched on +=. It gave me this:

ls -l files | awk '{ x += $5 }
END { print "total K-bytes: " (x + 1023)/1024 }'

1. Should I be using the (x + 1023)/1024 stated above (I'm wondering why they have that)?
2. I have GB of files, is there a different number I can use to get GB or do I just add 2 zero's?
3. Why %4.2f\n (what does that mean)?

Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

total size taken by directory

HI ALL, i am a beginner in unix world. can anyone please tell me the way to find total size taken by each directory (including size of all subdirectories and files) present under /var. e.g what is space occupied by /var/adm , /var/admin etc. its a simple question but still i dont know the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jyoti
2 Replies

2. Solaris

command to find out total size of a specific file size (spread over the server)

hi all, in my server there are some specific application files which are spread through out the server... these are spread in folders..sub-folders..chid folders... please help me, how can i find the total size of these specific files in the server... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: abhinov
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Getting the total file size for certain files per directory