Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting ksh: Comparing strings that contain spaces and working with substrings Post 302168845 by sb008 on Tuesday 19th of February 2008 02:01:12 PM
Old 02-19-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nancylt723
Forgive me. I am very new to kornshell scripts. The simplest things stop me dead in my tracks.

Here are two such examples.

I want to save the first 19 characters of the following string to a variable.

"Operation Completed and blah blah blah"

I know this works (from another thread):

mystring="Operation Completed and blah blah blah"
echo $mystring | cut -c 1-19

But I cannot figure out how to save the output of the result of the cut command to a variable.

So because I could not do that, I tried to compare the result of the cut command to a variable containing "Operation Completed", only I can't get the comparison to work. I keep getting :Operation not found when I run the following shell.

cstring="Operation Completed"
mystring="Operation Completed and blah blah blah"
echo $mystring | cut -c 1-19
if [[ "$cstring" = $($mystring | cut -c 1-19) ]]; then
echo "they match"
fi

Thanks in advance.
Code:
if [ "$cstring" = "$(echo $mystring | cut -c 1-19)" ]; then
  echo "they match"
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Breaking strings into Substrings

I'm only new to shell programming and have been given a task to do a program in .sh, however I've come to a point where I'm not sure what to do. This is my code so far: # process all arguments (i.e. loop while $1 is present) while ; do # echo "Arg is $1" case $1 in -h*|-H*) echo "help... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: switch
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing two strings

Hi How do i compare two strings in shell script. Below is an example but I am not getting the desired output, plz help if then echo success fi I am not getting the desired output if I do this. plz help (24 Replies)