Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need Script to Validate and Add more users one time Post 302165947 by KevinADC on Sunday 10th of February 2008 12:01:55 AM
Old 02-10-2008
Validating an email address is not easy but at least we know the format of an email address and what would be valid and what would be invalid. Validating a name, an id, and a department are not standard types of data so you will need to define exactly what those fields should contain to be considered valid and what they should not contain to be considered invalid. The actual script should be very straight forward once you establish what the criteria is for validating the data.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to add time convert to seconds

Hi, What i am looking for and i am new to this too, is a bash script that will add time in the format hh:mm:ss and produce the answer in minutes or seconds. It needs to be a loop since there are hundreds of times in my file. This is data is from a CDR that calculates duration of time used. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: trotella
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Validate time pattern using regular expression

Hi, I am new to scripting. please help me in validating the user entered time Pattern Here is the program #!/bin/bash validateTimeFormat() { checkTime=$1 timePattern="::" if ] then echo "Valid time pattern" return 1 else echo "InValid time pattern" return -1 fi } echo "Please... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vvenu88
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script to add 10000 users

Hi All i have written the script to add 10000 users, when i execute the script it had no errors ,but the script is not adding the users. pls correct me. i want it using while loop #!bin/sh count=0 while do useradd username$count count=`expr $count + 1` done ~ (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kalyankalyan
2 Replies

4. Solaris