Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: help with return codes
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help with return codes Post 302164304 by ammu on Monday 4th of February 2008 11:35:51 AM
Old 02-04-2008
help with return codes

Hi

In an unix script I am using an Perl one liner perl -i -ne '-----'
If the perl one liner fails i am not able to catch the return code.
It always give 0 as return code. Can you tell me how can i catch the return code

perl -i -ne '---'
RETCODE=$?
echo $RETCODE

Thanks and Regards
Ammu

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with Return codes

I have the below script I am running on a Solaris system to check the status of a Tivoli Workload Scheduler job and return the status. We need this script to return a '0' if any of the jobs in the stream are in a "EXEC" state and an "1" if in a "HOLD" state. I am not a programmer so I am not sure... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: leezer1204
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

unix return codes

Suppose I have a script which is monitoring a directory whenever a file drops in that directory,it sends alert say I want to write a return code for the above script which on successful execution of script gives a return value Based on return code , I want to do initiate some jobs in other... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abhib45
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Return codes

Hi, Can anyone tell me if there are return codes for SFTP? If so how would you capture them? I've tried 'man sftp' but its not particularly helpful. Many thanks Helen :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bab00shka
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Return Codes

I have a simple script which renames a file.How do i capture the return code of the script if the script fails (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kris01752
3 Replies

5. HP-UX

Return codes of RDIST