Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix vs Linux
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix vs Linux Post 302158301 by jurrien on Tuesday 15th of January 2008 02:26:01 AM
Old 01-15-2008
basicly such questions mostly end in a flamewar.

But it depends why you want to chose

The biggest differences for a company will possibly ibe the company that gives support.
and how it runs on your platform you want to run it on.
and one other option you could use to select one is what special feature you want to to have what is only aviable in taste X.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Where do I download LINUX & UNIX?

where is unix or linux?

this is going to sound really stupid, but i am new to unix and only have a tiny bit of experience with it such as typing in commands. that's about it. where can i get a copy of the unix software? isn't free to download somewhere? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Crimzon
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX VS. Linux

Aahhhh!! I am so much frustrated trying to recover my superuser account. I need help!!! Please can anyone tell me how to recover a the root account? Thank you in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pnoi_blitz
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Linux is Unix???

Could anyone explain if Linux is Unix? I'm a newbie here, just installed Oracle 8i on Redhat 7.2. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Prettyman
4 Replies

4. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

What is unix and is linux a unix system

Unix is the name of an operating system. And unix is a registered trademark. This is what makes things murky. One of my favorite books is The Design and Implementation of the 4.3BSD UNIX Operating System. That book is out of print, but a newer book is available: The Design and Implementation... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Perderabo
0 Replies

5. Linux

UNIX and LINUX