Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get rid of first & last lines from STD_OUT Post 302148750 by jjinno on Monday 3rd of December 2007 02:53:41 PM
Old 12-03-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrixmadhan
Code:
./myApp | sed '$d;1d'

Worked like a charm.

Thanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

combine 2 lines (command & echo)

does anyone know how to combine 2 lines? this is what im playing around with. (filename: online, user name: prml0001, real name: primal) #!/bin/sh who | grep $1 > /dev/null if then grep $1 /etc/passwd | cut -f 5, -d : echo is logged on exit 0 else grep $1... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: primal
13 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Looking for a good way to search & destroy lines

What is a good way to find an entry in a .conf file and then remove all lines associated with that entry? I have a Samba server running on Linux that I would like to easily add/remove share entries in the smb.conf file without removing or deleting lines that are not associated with that section.... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: darthur
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep string & next n lines

need help on this. let say i hv 1 file contains as below: STRING Description bla bla bla Description yada yada yada Data bla bla Data yada yada how do i want to display n lines after the string? thanks in advance! (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: ashterix
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep string & a few lines after

i need to grep a STRING_A & the next few lines after the STRING_A example file: STRING_A yada yada line 1 line 2 STRING_B yada yada line 1 line 2 line 3 STRING_A yada yada line 1 line 2 line 3 line 4 STRING_A yada yada line 1 line 2 line 3 line 4 (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ashterix
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How get only required lines & delete the rest of the lines in file