Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Add spaces between Characters Post 302147523 by heyindy06 on Tuesday 27th of November 2007 10:51:07 AM
Old 11-27-2007
Add spaces between Characters

I need to add spaces in between characters in a string variable.

Is there a shortcut? I know you can remove the spaces with sed, but does sed have a way to add them?

Example:
I have: DATA01
I want it to be: D A T A 0 1

What I have done so far is to create a function that will parse thru each character and add a space after, but really would like a one line solution.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Counting characters, words, spaces, punctuations, etc.

I am very new to C programming. How could I write a C program that could count the characters, words, spaces, and punctuations in a text file? Any help will be really appreciated. I am doing this as part of my C learning exercise. Thanks, Ajay (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajay41aj
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Replace only first found white spaces with some other characters

Anybody can help me How can I replace only four first white spaces with , or any other characters aaaa 08/31/2004 08/31/2009 permanent Logical Processors in System: 64 bedad 08/16/2001 08/15/2011 permanent Logical Processors in System: 64 badnv14 05/31/2008 05/30/2013 permanent Logical... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: pareshan
5 Replies

3. Solaris

removing special characters, white spaces from a field in a file

what my code is doing, it is executing a sql file and the resullset of the query is getting stored in the text file in a fixed format. for that fixed format i have used the following code:: Code: awk -F":"... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: priyanka3006
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replace characters with spaces between tag