Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to call awk in a csh Program Post 302147107 by gus2000 on Saturday 24th of November 2007 11:12:26 PM
Old 11-25-2007
1. You should not bump posts to get attention, pllllllllz.
2. You should not be using csh as a scripting shell. It blows.
3. You should not use a different shell on the command line when testing code for a shell script...the shells are not the same.
4. You must escape each EOL in csh, which does not support multi-line quoted values without them, i.e.,

Code:
# BAD
echo '123
456'

# GOOD
echo '123\
456'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

How to call a proc file from *.c program?

Hi, I am new to Linux programming. As part of learning, I need to create a *.c program where we call certain /proc files (i.e. such as meminfo, version, uptime, etc...) from our program. Can anyone point me to a simple program on how one would do this (i.e. can you directly call uptime() or... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pat_and_cami
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh failing to call an 2 embedded csh script

I have an extraordinary problem with a csh script.....(feel free to berate the use of this but I'm modifying an existing bunch of them) Anyway, I have a master csh script which in turn calls a second csh script. This second csh script is below. Within this second script are two compiled C++... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pollsizer
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to call another program

Hi, I would like to know how to call a program "cmp_size" ... where to put in progam to run it ex: program checkdisk is below, and it will call a nother problem "cmp_size" Do I just put the cmp_size program at the end of this program. Thank you very much, # check all directory for size... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: xitrum
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Call C Program From Shell Script