Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Comparison of 2 files in UNIX Post 302145348 by Dana Evans on Wednesday 14th of November 2007 02:00:25 AM
Old 11-14-2007
Hey bakunin n kahuna
thanks a ton
i think i got to change my codes n look for other approach

as pointed by both of u rightly
"Also, normally SQL queries do not guarantee the order of records unless the order by clause is used. So, without order by, the same query executed twice could, theoretically, return the same records in two totally different orders."

there is no guarantee that order of records would be same ...

so simply matching row wise ... would not generate desired result

ll get back with new set of codes

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix comparison

I am very new to Unix. What are the similiarities and differences between ScoUnix and AIX5 if any? Where might i find the information? Which is better? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: NewGuy100
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparison of 2 files

Kindly help on follows. I have 2 files. One file contains only one column of mobile numbers. And total records in a file 12 million. Second file contains 2 columns mobile numbers and balance. and total records 30 million. I want to find out balance of each data in file 1 corresponding to file 2.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamal_418
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparison of two files (sh)

Hi, I have a problem with comparison of two files file1 20100101 20090101 20080101 20071001 20121229 file2 19990112 12 456 7 20011131 19 20100101 2 567 1 987 17890709 123 555 and, sh script needs to compare of these two files and give out to me result: 20100101 2 567 1 987 it... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: shizik
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparison of 2 files using unix or awk