Sponsored Content
Special Forums Cybersecurity create file with 20mb with quota Post 302143076 by jim mcnamara on Tuesday 30th of October 2007 10:17:24 AM
Old 10-30-2007
You are trying to get around the quota imposed on your home directory?

/tmp and /var/tmp are two of the usual places to create large files that do not need to stay around forever.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Quota

I'm new to Unix and I'm trying to determin how much space I have on this system. the box is dedicated to Oracle and I log in as the oracle user and type quota. It retrunes nothing. Then I log on as root and type quota -v oracle.. It returns nothing! Gosh this is actually a solaris 5.7 box. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jarthda
1 Replies

2. AIX

enabling quota for the first time

Hai, I have configured user quota for the /home directry. using #chfs -a "quota = userquota" /home #chfs -a "userquota = /home/myquota.user" /home #edquota tom By entering this command a blank file comes without any entries. when I tried to add entry like follows , bad format... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aix_admin
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

Quota-problem

Hello, I'm having some trouble with the quota's I've set on our HP-UX B.11.00 U 9000/800. Well not really with the quota's because I was able to set them and get them working without a problem but the problem resides somewhere with our AS/U (Advanced Server for HP9000 Release B.04.06.07 and... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: chrizz
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Quota Problem

Hi all! I'm a user of Debian Etch. I've problem with my accoun't quota. After I removed all of my files from my home directory, and typed: du -hs It showed me: 76K . But when I used quota command, it showed me: Disk quotas for user X (uid *********): Filesystem blocks quota ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mjdousti
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Disk Quota