Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Reading a file and writing the file name to a param file. Post 302139367 by devtakh on Friday 5th of October 2007 04:38:28 PM
Old 10-05-2007
not sure what exactly are you looking for..if i understood correctly..u may want to do something like this-

for file in adc_earnedpoints*.txt
do
datestr=`echo $file | cut -d. -f2`
new=`echo $file | cut -d. -f1,3`

mv $file $new
#call informatica session with the datestr
done

cheers,
Devaraj Takhellambam

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Reading and Writing file on LAN

Hi gurus I am not a C programmer but I need to read and write files on a computer on LAN using IP address. Suppose on a computer that has an IP 192.168.0.2 Any help or code example. I did in JAVA using URL, but do not know how to do in ANSI-C. In java: ------- URL url = new... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lucky001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script for reading filelist and preparing param file.

Hi All, Not sure if this would be in a dummies sectiin or advanced. I'm looking for a script if someone has doen something like this. I have list of files - adc_earnedpoints.20070630.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070707.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070714.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070721.txt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thebeginer
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

reading ,writing,appending ,manipulating a file.

Hi my prob statement is to create a new file or to append to the 1tst file the followign chages. File 1: txt file. portfolio No a b c d abc 1 Any Any Any charString cds 2 values values values charString efd 3 can can can charString fdg 4 come come come charString... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: szchmaltz
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Log File Writing and Reading