Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to ftp in non-ineractive mode Post 302136551 by mshv123 on Tuesday 18th of September 2007 10:20:44 AM
Old 09-18-2007
Script to ftp in non-ineractive mode

Hi,

I am relatively new to Unix. What I am trying to create now is a script to ftp some file(s) from Unix server to Windows ( not mine) machine. It should be able to run not in interactive mode, eventually I will schedule it to run at certain time intervals.

So far I have created the following script:

ftp windows_server_name
USER my_account_on_win_server
PASS my_password there
put dir_name/file_name
bye

However when I run it it behaves interactively, it asks me for user name and password on target machine anyway. My question is what should I change in this script to make it non-interactive ? My shell is ksh.

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

PASV mode FTP

Hello, We have a situation wherein the FTP connections from a Client over a secure connection like ANX, when using PASV mode file transfers, the server on our end is sending out an ip address as (0,0,0,0,0,0) for PASV mode. The first four numbers denote the ip address and the last two denote the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerardfjay
5 Replies

2. IP Networking

Transfering file through FTP through Binary Mode

Hi, I'm uploading files using internet explorer. 1.Open internet explorer 6.0 2.Open site like ftp://172.45.15.1 3.Copy files The files which I'm copying are basically zip files. What is the default transfer mode, I mean ASCII/BINARY ???. The problem I'm facing, while extracting these... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ronald_brayan
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check a file whether it is in binay mode or not while doing ftp??