Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting set password using a shell script Post 302135185 by tannu on Thursday 6th of September 2007 07:55:43 PM
Old 09-06-2007
set password using a shell script

Hi All

How can I set password in linux.It is OK if it display password in plain text in script.
manually i can set:
Code:
#passwd
Changing password for root
Enter new password:
Bad password: too weak.
Re-enter new password:
Password changed.
#

I want this to be done by script.Please let me know.

Last edited by Yogesh Sawant; 03-29-2010 at 04:11 PM.. Reason: added code tags

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to change root password using shell script with standard password

Hi Friends. I am new to scripting now i want to change the root password using the script with standard password. which is the easy scripting to learn for the beginner, Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kurva
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can I set Password to open my shell script?

Hi All, please help me on how to secure my shell script? I chnanged it to read-only mode using 'chmod'. but still i would like to set password for open the script. Is there any way? Please help me!! Thankyou all in advance!! :b: (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: little_wonder
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to set password/encrypt a shell script

Hi, I have written a shell script in unix for my customer. Now I want to make it only execute and not to read/write. Can anybody help me how to set password protect/encript my script. Thanks Suresh (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: suresh3566
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to set the password from *LK* to *NP*