Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX can I use ps to log overall system stats. Post 302134358 by fazliturk on Thursday 30th of August 2007 12:04:08 PM
Old 08-30-2007
if you have man pages in your system you look at this ;

vmstat 1 20 :gives virtual memory stats. 20 times 1 is the period (1 second)
or vmstsat 1 or else

ps -ef :gives systemwide resultsSmilierocesses stats
ps aux :gives some other systemwide results Smilierocesses stats
sar 1 1 or sar -P ALL etc sar gives cpu stats ( vmstat gives this information additionally to memory stats. But sar gives detailed info for all cpu )

netstat -v |netstat -D |netstat -i|netstat -r |netstat -in or etc.gives networtk stats

iostat 1 10 gives io stats

filemon gives filesystem stats

topas uses this underneath : sou you must read these from man pages

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Display filename and wc stats

I'm just learning UNIX and I'm trying to do the following: Write a script called details.bash that, for each file in the working directory, prints the filename, the # of lines, and the # of words to to some output file, like this: filename1 73 431 filename2 5 21 It's probably a stupid... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: asianmike
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

I/O Stats Metrics

What do others use for measuring I/O statistics? I'd like something versatile, as in being able to watch (like iostat, but easier to trend), generate load (like iozone, but more realistic), and perform somewhat generalized benchmarks (like bonnie, but more current.) It would scale from a few... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: LivinFree
0 Replies

3. AIX

system stats

I recieved this out put below soemhow. Unfortunatly I did not write down the command I used to get it. Can someone tell me what command I use to gather these stats? OS = AIX 5.3 64Bit System Model: IBM,7026-6H1 Machine Serial Number:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rocker40
2 Replies