Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX can I use ps to log overall system stats. Post 302134179 by thebytegrill on Wednesday 29th of August 2007 11:13:59 AM
Old 08-29-2007
can I use ps to log overall system stats.

Hi I'm writing a script to get overall system memory and cpu utilization in percentages, much like in top or with AIX's topas.
Could I use 'ps' to get the same, I know I can get such results for a particular or group of PIDs but I haven't been able to figure out how I could use 'ps' to give me general system wide statsSmilie.
Is there some other utility I could incorporate in to my script so that I may dump this info into a csv sort of file. This need to work on AIX 5.2 & 5.3
Thanks in advance.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Display filename and wc stats

I'm just learning UNIX and I'm trying to do the following: Write a script called details.bash that, for each file in the working directory, prints the filename, the # of lines, and the # of words to to some output file, like this: filename1 73 431 filename2 5 21 It's probably a stupid... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: asianmike
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

I/O Stats Metrics

What do others use for measuring I/O statistics? I'd like something versatile, as in being able to watch (like iostat, but easier to trend), generate load (like iozone, but more realistic), and perform somewhat generalized benchmarks (like bonnie, but more current.) It would scale from a few... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: LivinFree
0 Replies

3. AIX

system stats

I recieved this out put below soemhow. Unfortunatly I did not write down the command I used to get it. Can someone tell me what command I use to gather these stats? OS = AIX 5.3 64Bit System Model: IBM,7026-6H1 Machine Serial Number:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rocker40
2 Replies

4. AIX

IO Stats