Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris command to find out total size of a specific file size (spread over the server) Post 302130831 by zazzybob on Wednesday 8th of August 2007 03:11:28 AM
Old 08-08-2007
Something like this?
Code:
# du -ks /usr/local/jboss4/bin /usr/local/jboss4/server /var/log/jboss | awk '{c+=$1} END {printf "%s KB\n", c}'
1646356 KB

Cheers
ZB

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

How to find the total size of a dirctory tree in Solaris

Hi, I want to find the total size of some directory trees in my solaris 9 machine. Is there a command or utility I can use to do it. Please let me know if there is any way. Thanks Akheel (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 0ktalmagik
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find the size of a single specific file

As I'm a newbie to UNIX, very newbie in fact, could anyone humour me and tell me how I'd find just the file size in bytes for a specific file? Or at least just the specific line from the ls -a for the file - call it file1 I know this sounds bad but I don't seem to be getting very far at this... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nortypig
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find total size for some files?

Hi, I'm newbie to Unix. I'd like to count the total size of those files in my directory by date. For example, files on this period 05/01/08 - 05/31/08. If possible can we count by byte instead of kb. if I use $ du - ks , it will add up all files in the dir. thanks, Helen (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: helen008
5 Replies

4. Solaris

Solaris 10 - How to find the total size of my hard disk?

Friends, I have an 80 GB HDD, but I wish to know if there is a direct command in Solaris 10 to find out the size of my hard disk (similar to fdisk -l in Linux). Thank you saagar (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: saagar
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

find with file size and show the size