Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Kernel Switching?
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix Kernel Switching? Post 302130252 by ilan on Saturday 4th of August 2007 05:21:52 AM
Old 08-04-2007
BTW:You should restart the system after editing /etc/grub.conf

-ilan

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Unix Kernel Designing

Hello, I want to know what a kernel is? what are its functions and uses. what is a unix kernel? can i make a new kernel like unix or any other OS. if yes what type of programming is needed or can i use C programming language.if there is C, then what kind of C is required (hardware like... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhory2j
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Switching shells in UNIX Scripts

Solaris Newbie here to scripting in UNIX/SOLARIS. What I am looking to do is, once the script is executed, switch to /bin/bash shell and continue to execute the script. The problem I run into is once the script switches to the Bash shell, the script stops, and does not execute the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Scoobiez
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Why does UNIX kernel does not shrink?

Hello this is a book problem of chapter 8 william stallings's operating systems..can anyone tells me the accurate solution of it?? The Unix kernel will dynamicaly grow a process's stack in virtual memory as needed, but it willnever try to shrink it. Consider the case in which a program calls a C... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dillidamunda
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Distribution and Kernel

By way of a small report what is involved in the updating of the unix distribution and kernel (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dipset
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX kernel type?

Hai guys,This is my first question. What type of UNIX kernel is? (W.K.T linux kernel is monolithic) Thank you (2 Replies)