Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: fgrep fails...!?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting fgrep fails...!? Post 302128441 by jgt on Tuesday 24th of July 2007 10:37:45 PM
Old 07-24-2007
FTP will not copy the ownership or permissions of the files, so why not tar all the files into a single archive first, ftp the archive, compare checksums, then extract the files from the archive.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I need help with fgrep or grep

How can I do an and condition with fgrep. I want to do: ps -ef | fgrep -f searchvalues > tempmail.file mailx -s "Email Subject" email@domain.com < tempmail.file The search values file contains: opt/bea.*java.*80 mysqld What I want is to find things that contain: mysqld OR... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assigning the return of an fgrep???

Im haveing a problem with a script that i am currently writing. I am new to scripting and dont know it all that well. I cant use perl so please dont post perl scripts. The problem is when i try and asign the result of the fgrep to qdetail. It does not seem to like that assignment. any ideas... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: intergltc
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

fgrep

Hi Guys, Can anyone explain why I'm getting error below? when I execute in other server there is no error, what could be the reason. $ fgrep -f timecell.txt ldap_prev.dat wordlist too large $ wc -l timecell.txt ldap_prev.dat 372461 timecell.txt 3722878 ldap_prev.dat Thanks in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishna
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FGREP question

Hi, I need fgrep to search all files in the subdirectories in /var/spool/postfix/defer/... How can I issue such a command? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mojoman
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

fgrep to file plus some