Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Beginner Questions
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Beginner Questions Post 302127162 by Perderabo on Monday 16th of July 2007 11:47:04 AM
Old 07-16-2007
I would go ahead and try the install on the older systems. It may not work, but there is little to lose (I assume that the older systems have no useful data on the drives). However, this stuff is all very old software and I would not be surprised if it fails with newer systems.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Beginner C

Anyone know where I can get started in C++ programming in unix? Any good free tutorials or websites to start at? I am okay in unix scripting but have never done c programming of any sort... What are the main advantages of using C++ ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Absolute Beginner Questions

... before you role your eyes, I picked up my first Unix book 3 days ago! As such, I have a few quick questions that I'm sure are super easy for everyone out there but me! Forgive me if the terminology I use is wrong ... I'm accessing a remote Unix server, I can make my way around directories... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joey_tomatoes
2 Replies

3. Linux

Beginner questions about versions and installing

1. I have never used or dealt with unix, linux, or any variation thereof, and want to. My biggest problem is that all the versions I've looked at want you to install from a CD or DVD, but I'm wanting to put it onto an Asus eeepc, which has no such drive. How would I go about installing on it? ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lemming
4 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

Beginner Questions.