Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: test and if condition
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting test and if condition Post 302123680 by porter on Tuesday 26th of June 2007 05:08:07 PM
Old 06-26-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciroredz
thare isn t another way to do it?
like using if statements and test?
Perhaps a teacher said to use those things in this assignment, maybe? Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with test condition in shell script

I'm new to scripting and I need help with a bourn shell script. What i'm trying to do is a test condition where "if the time is within 2 hours, it's true" and so on. The time is in the following format DATE=`/bin/date +"%Y%m%d%H%S"` for example, 20060907152000. So, what the script first... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pieman8080
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Condition test ( [[ ]] ) doubt

Hi , I have a doubt on condition test ( ] ). Pls refer blow program. #!/bin/ksh TEMP= if ;then echo $TEMP else print 'invalid option' fi Above script's TEMP variable has no value so it gives "invalid option" as output. But I got an error before priting the string . Result : ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thambi
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Condition test

Hi there, When I try to do a condition on test: $ str1=abcd $ test $str1 $ echo $? 0 Is there anyway to display the answer to be 'TRUE' or 'YES'? rather than 0? If so, how can I do it without using awk or sed. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: felixwhoals
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test condition

Hello, what is the better and correct way to perform a comparison: I have been using the following with no problems: if ] then .... fi I have seen this also used : if then .... fi When I try : if then .... fi I get an error like .... the test condition expects a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gio001
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting