Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Help with waiting for ARP/RARP packet Post 302119415 by porter on Tuesday 29th of May 2007 09:03:28 PM
Old 05-29-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chezmargm
So far our UNIX guys have spent a lot of man hours on this and have gotten nowhere.
Is this machine using DHCP and on a subnet without a DHCP server or DHCP bridge?

Is this machine using DNS/NIS to get it's network information?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

Alternate to RARP Solaris 5.6 & 5.8

I am a Cisco Engineer and have run into a problem with the boot process for UNIX servers running Solaris 5.6 & 5.8 OS. Currently the servers boot using RARP to discover IP configuration. This works and is OK as long as everything is on the same network where the broadcasts are free to roam. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dmerg59
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Jumpstart: Rarp protocol specifics

I am having trouble locating a boot server on my subnet. I am trying to avoid installing a boot server if one exisits. Is there a way for me to broadcast a Rarp request to see if any boot servers are on my subnet and if so identify them? I think this will only work if the Rarp protocol supports... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mhm4
3 Replies

3. Solaris

ARP Cache

Dear all, We are testing two of our servers for mq series connectivity. The scenario is, when one machine is shutting down it's services there are some scripts that do a dns update, which removes the ip address and relates it to the ip address of the other node on our dns server, and the update... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: earlysame55
7 Replies

4. HP-UX

HW Address and arp

I was checking nettl output for a unstable telnet to my server. this is part of output: ### ***********************************STREAMS/UX*******************************@#% Timestamp : Sun Jun 22 EETDST 2008 22:14:47.492899 Process ID : Subsystem ... (4 Replies)