Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Automatic name file with increase Post 302119168 by aigles on Monday 28th of May 2007 10:46:47 AM
Old 05-28-2007
You can try something like that :
Code:
filename=c15a

datestamp=$(date +%Y%m%d)
last_file=$(ls -1 $filename.$datestamp.* 2>/dev/null | tail -1)
if [ -z "$last_file" ]
then
  number=1
else
  number=$(( ${last_file##*.} + 1 ))
fi
new_filename=$(printf "%s.%s.%05.5d" "$filename" "$datestamp" "$number")

mv $filename $new_filename

Jean-Pierre.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

unix automatic file transfer

Hello, I am a beginner with korn shell scripting. I have got a text file that gets produced every night and I need to transfer it to a windows shared area. Is there any command line script (e.g FTP) that I could use to transfer the file automatically without manual intervention everyday? Any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tagem
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File increase

Sorry im really new here this is my second post today! My question is, im trying to write a script and i want to output to a text file but i want each text file to be different so for instance log.txt, log1.txt, log2.txt ect how would i do that? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: chapmana
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

automatic tar xf of file with unknown name

Hi all, With curl I can fetch a tar archive from a web server which contains a file ending with .scf which I am interested in. Unfortunately the file name may vary and the subdirectory inside the tar archive may change. I can manually browse the directory structure and extract the file and then... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tkrahn
3 Replies

4. Solaris

Script for automatic count the file i have